Unlike Gelatin which is made from animal parts, Pectin is plant based, dervived predominantly from citrus fruit. As a result, any food that with pectin listed as an ingredient, may be classified as both Vegetarian and Vegan (dependent upon other ingredients added).
- The availability of a plant-based alternative to Gelatin is significant and enables vendors to tap into a very large and growing vegetarian and vegan consumer base. While this gelling agent can be found in numerous plants, a significant majority of production comes from just a few of them.
- Pectin produces a much cleaner, shorter bite, with less chewiness and no elasticity. The final texture is completely different to that of a Gelatin gummy.
- Pectin is manufactured to a higher melting point than Gelatin. Pectin Gummies are therefore well suited for sale to hotter climates where there is a risk of melting. This is therefore a consideration for transportation and/or export to hot climates, retail outlets without air conditioning, etc
- No real Cons to convey
- Some consumers may prefer the taste/ mouthfeel of Gelatin gummies – it is more familiar to most consumers.