Gelatin is a processed protein from collagen, extracted from the hides and bones of pigs and cattle. Gelatin can also be extracted from fish.
- Gelling characteristic essential for the manufacture of gummies
- It is an aerating agent and emulsifier, a stabiliser, protective colloid, film forming, water binding and an adhesive, it is a very versatile product
- It has a “melt in the mouth” quality, technically referred to as “thermal reversibility”. This means that Gelatin can transition from a solid state to a melting state at body temperature and ingestion. This can allow for a more intense and rapid release of flavour. With other hydrocolloids you don’t get the same flavour sensation, because that hydrocolloid is not melting when it’s in your mouth.
- A further advantage of Gelatin formulation is the ingredients inherent sheen, capable of producing gummies with brilliant almost transparent colour. Manufacturers can often coat gummies in powdered sugar so there are alternative ways to achieving “visual brilliance”. However, it is widely regarded that Gelatin’s combination of sheen and melt in the mouth texture has yet to be duplicated by any alternative.
- The source. The fact that Gelatin is animal-derived can create problems. Pig Gelatin is by and large the most popular source of today’s commercial Gelatin.
NB UKGC predominantly uses Fish Gelatin – thereby enabling a vegetarian status to be applied (dependent upon other ingredients added).